About the City Header 2018


The City is divided into three wards, with two aldermen elected to represent each ward. Each alderman serves a two-year term, one half of which expires annually. The Mayor, elected at large to serve a two-year term, is presiding officer of the Board of Aldermen.

Services & Functions

City services and functions are divided into the following departments:

  • Administration
  • Finance
  • Legal / Municipal Court
  • Parks and Recreation
  • Planning and Zoning
  • Police
  • Public Works

Theses services are provided by 74 full-time employees and approximately 6.5 seasonal employees.